Egnater YouTube Channel Egnater on Facebook @EgnaterAmps  
Egnater Rebel
Egnater Renegade
Egnater Tourmaster
Egnater Vengeance
Egnater Armageddon
Egnater Pedals
Egnater Tone Quest
Egnater Artists

Egnater Artist: Unwritten Law — Southern California hard rock, punk band
Egnater Artist: Unwritten Law

More of a power pop band than anything else, though they're nestled in Southern California's skate/snowboard punk scene, Unwritten Law formed early in the 1990s, with drummer Wade Youman the only holdover from the band's early days. The group eventually coalesced around vocalist Scott Russo, guitarists Rob Brewer and Steve Morris, bassist John Bell, and Youman.

After releasing their debut, Blue Room, on an independent label, Unwritten Law toured America several times but grew disgusted by the lack of distribution of their records. The quartet eventually signed to Epic, which re-released Blue Room and in 1996 issued their second album, Oz Factor. The group jumped labels yet again in 1997, to Interscope, and recorded their third album, the self-titled "black" album, in 1998. Just before its release in June of that year, Bell left and was replaced by Sprung Monkey's Pat Kim. The album spawned a few semi-hits among the skate crowd like "Lonesome" and "Cailin." Three years later, the band issued their fourth full-length, Elva, in early 2002. Debut single "Seein' Red" was a hit among TRL and mainstream radio.

Before the year came to a close, Unwritten Law inked a major deal with Lava Records. The largely acoustic Music in High Places followed in early 2003. Recorded on location at Yellowstone National Park, the album was part of MTV's Music from High Places series, a sort of National Geographic Explorer for the Warped Tour set. While the band started recording their fifth studio effort in 2004, Tony Palermo (Pulley, the Jealous Sound) replaced Wade Youman on drums. The Sean Beavan-produced Here's to the Mourning followed in February 2005, which did reasonably well, mostly due to the single "Save Me." Brewer was kicked out of the band during a subsequent tour with Sum 41, apparently due to "volatile circumstances" between him and the rest of the group, and they decided to continue on as a four-piece instead of replacing him. Unwritten Law's installment for the 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection series was issued in fall 2006 by one of their old labels, Interscope, a suspect move considering the band was due to release their own greatest-hits compilation, The Hit List (which included various re-recordings and a new song), in early January 2007.

Steve Morris - former Unwritten Law Guitar Player
"The Renegade amplifier is by far one of the most smooth and pristine sounding amps I have ever heard! I have been looking for that perfect blend between clean and dirt for a long time now. And when I turned the Renegade on it hit me in the face with warmth and clarity. The gain knob on the clean channel is really smooth without being overbearing or to aggressive. It adds that certain "something" to the clean sound that makes the whole amp breath. Its the perfect clean sound. And the dirty channel is very versatile and I use it for semi clean to full throttle depending on the song. And its all done with the move of one knob! Likewise the tube blend feature really let me dial the tone that I wanted. Not to crisp, not to flabby, just thick ass tone without the bullshit! I actually use two Renegades side by side. And I have one set more to El34's and the other set more towards 6L6's. And that has been magical! Best of both worlds! Thank you Egnater for helping me achieve the tone I've been after for a long time now!! You RIP!!!!!"

Find Unwritten Law online


To find an Authorized Service Center, contact our Support Department. Register your product here


Egnater is sold world-wide, translate our website or locate the International Distributor in your country